College Life: A Little Party Never Killed Nobody

Despite completing nearly one-and-a-half semesters of college, I didn’t attend my first college party until very recently.  Wow.

I knew the basics of what to expect; handsy guys, wobbly girls, an inescapable warmth of body heat, a beer-soaked dance floor.  Yep, that all happened. I can’t believe I actually went. I can’t believe I actually liked it.

Dancing was great. This was a blacklight party so my seven or so girlfriends and I made sure we wore white and neon colors to “glow” on the dance floor. I wore a lacey white tank top, leggings, combats, and a neon printed headwrap (which glowed amazingly!) I didn’t mind dancing with randoms, sporting glow-in-the-dark body markers, and stealing a few kisses.

In all honesty, I don’t know why I was so hesitant to go out in the first place. I love dancing. Dancing on stage, in a club, with a guy, with my mom, I do it all and love it every single time.  This time was no exception.  Although I didn’t have much to drink, I had a fabulous time laughing while watching my friends make out with random guys while I continued to dance to the music.  And the people who were attending the party were actually really kind and considerate (there were a few exceptions, one guy who lives in my dorm wildly waved his beer around, and it spilled all over my leggings).  

I can’t wait to attend more parties with my friends. I can now call myself an official college girl.

All I can say is, party on, friends!

Leave a Reply

